Early voting ends March 1; Primary Election Day is March 5

by Staff reports

CHEROKEE COUNTY – Registered voters have through 7 p.m. Friday, March 1, to cast an early voting ballot for the March 2024 primaries at any of the three polling places in Cherokee County: The County Election Department in Rusk, Jacksonville Public Library or The River Church in Alto.

Among the local candidates in the Republican Primary, and their races, are:

• Second Judicial District Court Judge – Incumbent Chris Day

• Cherokee County District Attorney – Jonathan Richey

• Cherokee County Sheriff – Incumbent Brent Dickson

• Cherokee County Tax Assessor – Incumbent Shonda Potter

• Cherokee County Precinct 1 Commissioner – Incumbent Kelly Traylor, challenger Scotty Benge

• Cherokee County Precinct 3 Commissioner – Incumbent Patrick Reagan

• Cherokee County Precinct 1 Constable – Incumbent Lynn Kelley

• Cherokee County Precinct 2 Constable – Incumbent Jack White

• Cherokee County Precinct 3 Constable – Incumbent Eddie Lee

• Cherokee County Precinct 4 Constable – Incumbent Jamie Beene

• Republican Party County Chair – Janet Stanovich

No candidates filed for local office in this year’s Democratic primary, officials said.