Early voting begins soon for March 2024 primaries

by Staff reports

Early voting for the March primaries is around the corner, with registered Cherokee County voters heading to one of three early voting locations between Feb. 20-March 1, to cast votes that’ll help shape a November 2024 ballot.

While no candidates have filed for local office in the Democratic primary for the March 4 primary, this year’s Republican slate has drawn a number of incumbent candidates, according to Cherokee County election officials.

Local Republican Primary races and their candidates are:

• Second Judicial District Court Judge – Incumbent Chris Day

• Cherokee County District Attorney – Jonathan Richey

• Cherokee County Sheriff – Incumbent Brent Dickson

• Cherokee County Tax Assessor – Incumbent Shonda Potter

• Cherokee County Precinct 1 Commissioner – Incumbent Kelly Traylor, challenger Scotty Benge

• Cherokee County Precinct 3 Commissioner – Incumbent Patrick Reagan

• Cherokee County Precinct 1 Constable – Incumbent Lynn Kelley

• Cherokee County Precinct 2 Constable – Incumbent Jack White

• Cherokee County Precinct 3 Constable – Incumbent Eddie Lee

• Cherokee County Precinct 4 Constable – Incumbent Jamie Beene

• Republican Party County Chair – Janet Stanovich

Registered Cherokee County voters may cast their ballots at any one of three polling places set up for early voting: The Cherokee County Election office, 138 W. 5th St. in Rusk; Jacksonville Public Library, 526 E. Commerce St.; and The River Church, 595 Marcus St. in Alto.

Early voting begins Tuesday, Feb. 20 – Monday, Feb. 19, is Presidents Day, a federal holiday in which all government offices are closed in observation.

Hours are from 8 am. to 5 p.m. Feb. 20-23; 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 24; 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 25; and 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Feb. 26 through March 1.