Secretary Hughs encourages Texans to vote early, observe health protocols, prepare for general election in July

by From the office of Secretary of State Ruth Hughs

AUSTIN -- Early voting for Cherokee County’s Republican primary runoff election has begun.

Texas Secretary of State Ruth Hughs encourages all eligible voters to take advantage of the extended early voting period which ends Friday, July 10. Early voting will not occur on Friday, July 3 or Saturday, July 4 in observance of Independence Day.

The Secretary also reminded all eligible Texas voters to observe the recommended health care protocols released last month by her office, which are meant to help ensure the health and safety of all voters, election office personnel, polling place workers, and poll watchers in Texas.

“Despite COVID-19 ( the Coronavirus pandemic), the drumbeat of our democracy has marched on,” Secretary Hughs said. “I strongly encourage all eligible Texans to set aside time now so they can be prepared to cast a ballot during the early voting period or on Election Day. It is essential to our democracy that Texans are able to safely and confidently cast their vote.”

Cherokee County’s early voting locations are The River Church, 595 S. Marcus St. (U.S. 69), in Alto; the Cherokee County Elections Department, 138 W. Fifth St., in Rusk; and the Norman Activity Center, 526 E. Commerce St., Jacksonville.

Early voting polls will be open:

• 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Wednesday, July 1;

• 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Thursday, July 2;

• closed Friday, July 3 and Saturday, July 4;

• 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday, July 6;

• 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., Tuesday, July 7;

• 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Wednesday, July 8;

• 8 a.m. to 7 p.m., Thursday, July 9; and

• 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Friday, July 10.

The general runoff election will be held 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Tuesday, July 14. The runoff election, originally scheduled for May 26, was rescheduled in consideration of COVID-19.

Cherokee County’s polling locations have been consolidated for the general election. They are:

• Box 12, Gallatin Community Center, 626 Chandler St., Gallatin;

• Boxes 13 and 14, Craft Baptist Church, CR 1616, Jacksonville;

• Box 15 First Christian Church, 1920 Beaumont St., Jacksonville;

• Boxes 22, 23 and 24, Salem Baptist Church, 1500 FM 241 S., Rusk;

Box 25, Wells First Baptist Church, 629 Rusk Ave., Wells;

• Boxes 26 and 27, The River Church, 595 Marcus St. (U.S. Hwy. 69), Alto;

• Box 28, Assembly of God Church, 6010, U.S. Hwy. 84 W., Maydelle;

• Boxes 32 and 34, Mt. Selman Methodist Church, 135 CR 3701, Bullard;

• Box 33, East Lake Baptist Church, 153 Eastdale Lane (corner of FM 346 and Eastdale Lane), Bullard;

• Boxes 35, 36, 37 and 38, Cove Springs Community Church, 4948 Hwy. 175 W., Jacksonville;

• Boxes 42, 43 and 44, Norman Activity Center, 526 E. Commerce St., Jacksonville;

• Boxes 45 and 47, New Summerfield First Baptist Church, 201 Church St., New Summerfield; and

• Boxes 46 and 48, Blackjack Baptist Church, 18214 Hwy 110 N., Blackjack.

Dana Nolley Chancey and Shonda McCutcheon Potter are each seeking the county’s tax assessor/collector position. Brent Dickson and Eric Long are both vying for the county sheriff’s seat.

Eligible Texas voters should contact their respective county elections office to view a sample ballot, locate their appropriate polling place, and plan their trip to the polls. Voters can also find extensive information regarding the July 14 elections at

Texas voters who possess one of the seven approved forms of photo ID must present that ID at the polls.

The seven forms of approved photo ID are:

• Texas Driver License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS);

• Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS;

• Texas Personal ID Card issued by DPS;

• Texas Handgun License issued by DPS;

• U.S. Military ID Card containing the person’s photograph;

• U.S. Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph; and

• U.S. passport (book or card).

With the exception of the U.S. Citizenship Certificate, which does not expire, the acceptable photo ID must be current or, for voters ages 18 to 69, have expired no more than four years before being presented for voter qualification at the polling place.

A voter 70 years of age or older may use a form of acceptable photo ID listed above that has expired for any length of time if the identification is otherwise valid.

Voters with questions about how to cast a ballot in upcoming elections can call 1-800-252-VOTE.

For more information on voting in Texas, visit