UIL changes alignment of who plays who

by Michelle Dillon michelle@thecherokeean.com

Cherokee County high schools remain under the same classification by the University Interscholastic League (UIL) as in 2018-2020, but alignments have been redrawn, changing district opponents for local schools. The alterations run the gamut from a single school competitor added to a district to being aligned in a new district altogether.

Class 5A-2 Jacksonville remains in Region III, District 9 for football, along with previous adversaries Hallsville, Marshall, Mount Pleasant, Nacogdoches, Pine Tree and Whitehouse. Lindale was removed due to the school’s reclassification as 4A-1 school, and Texarkana Texas has been added to the district roster.

Jacksonville’s basketball Region II District 16 has a decidedly different look. Lufkin, Nacogdoches, Tyler and Whitehouse will remain, but Marshall, Hallsville and Pine Tree will not. Huntsville will be a new addition to the district.

Volleyball, also District 16, is organized with the same schools as basketball.

Bullard and Rusk both remain under the 4A-2 designation. Although Bullard remains with their football foes Brownsboro and Canton in Region II District 7, Rusk has been moved to Region III District 10. District 7 will also include Mexia and Van for a five-team district.

Bullard’s basketball and volleyball teams remain Region II District 16 along with former competitors Cumberland Academy, Henderson, Kilgore, Spring Hill, and Tyler Chapel Hill. Gilmer has been removed from the district slate and Lindale has been added.

Rusk, having been reassigned to Region III District 10, will now face teams from Carthage, Center, Jasper, Madisonville and Shepherd.

Rusk basketball and volleyball will both belong to Region III District 17.

Basketball challengers will include one former foe, Palestine, and new challengers Carthage, Center, Hudson, Jasper.

Volleyball will still compete against Palestine as well, but will face new teams from Carthage, Center and Jasper.

Troup continues to be classified as a 3A-2 school along with Arp, Grand Saline, Harmony, Quitman and Winona, all of whom will remain in a district together although they will move from District 10 to District 9.

Joining these teams in District 9 will be West Rusk.

While Troup’s basketball and volleyball remain in Region II District 16, the district has a completely new look with one exception, rival Arp remains a competitor in both sports.

In basketball, Troup will face Elysian Fields, Harleton, Jefferson, Tatum, Waskom and West Rusk. Volleyball opponents now include Elysian Fields, Jefferson, Tatum, Waskom and West Rusk.

Alto, still designated a 2A-1 school, remains in Region III but has been moved from District 10 to District 11 for football. Adversaries will now include Centerville, Grapeland, Groveton, Leon and Normangee.

New Summerfield, which does not have a football team, will remain in the same district as Alto for basketball, however, both teams have been moved from District 21 to District 22.
Cushing, Douglass and Mt. Enterprise will remain as district opponents along with the addition of Garrison and Woden.

Wells remains classified as a 1A school. Although its basketball team has been reassigned from District 28 to District 27, the opponents remain the same with the exclusion of Chireno and LaPoynor.

The district will still include Apple Springs, Centerville, Kennard, Laneville, Neches and Oakwood.

UIL will release alignments for additional sports as they become available, which is estimated to be mid-March.