Deadline to register to vote looming

by Josie Fox and Cristin Parker

The last day for voter registration for the upcoming primary elections is Monday Feb. 3. Early voting in the primary elections will begin on Tuesday, Feb. 18 and goes through Friday, Feb. 28. Early voting locations are the Cherokee County Elections office located at 138 W. Fifth Street, Rusk; Jacksonville Public Library located at 502 S. Jackson Street, Jacksonville; and The River Church in Alto located at 595 Marcus Street. General election day is Tuesday, March 3.

The local primary race for Cherokee County sheriff will be on the ballot. With longtime incumbent Sheriff James Campbell opting out of seeking another term, five individuals have filed to run in the Republican primary. They are Roy Cavazoz Jr. of Rusk; Brent Dickson of Jacksonville; Ben Ellis of Jacksonville; Eric Long of Rusk; and Johnathan Rhodes of Rusk. No Democrat candidates filed for the primary race.

The Republican primary race for the county tax assessor collector has three candidates on the ballot. Incumbent Tax Assessor Collector Linda Little is not seeking reelection. Those running for that seat are Dana Nolley Chancey of Jacksonville, Shonda McCutcheon Potter of Rusk and Blaine Verhelle of Rusk. All are running in the Republican primary, no Democrats filed for this position.

The Republican primary election for Precinct 1 Commissioner pits incumbent Kelly Traylor against opponent David Jones of Jacksonville.

The position of Republican chair is being sought by Jefferson Jackson of Rusk and John Earle of Jacksonville.

At the national level, incumbent U.S. Senator John Cornyn is facing several opponents in the Republican primaries as well. Virgil Bierschwale of Junction, Texas, Dwayne Stovall of Austin and Mark Yancey of Dallas are all seeking voters’ support for the seat.

Register to vote in Cherokee County by contacting the Cherokee County Elections Department, (903) 683-8409, or visit