Election filing deadline looms

by Cristin Parker cristin@thecherokeean.com

Anyone thinking about running for office in Cherokee County better get on the stick!

Deadline for candidates to file for offices that are regularly scheduled to be on the Republican and Democratic primary election ballots and for independent candidates to file their declarations of intent is 6 p.m., Monday, Dec. 9.

“In order to become the Republican or Democratic party nominee for a particular office, you must file an application for a place on the ballot with the county or state party chair, as appropriate,” the Texas Secretary of State’s website states. “Candidates for federal office must file a federal application. The application for a place on the primary ballot must be accompanied by either a filing fee or a petition in lieu of the fee, signed by a certain number of qualified voters.

“Applications shall be filed with the state party chair for all statewide offices and all district offices which are filled by the choice of voters in more than one county. The application shall be filed with the County party chair for all county and precinct offices and all district offices which are filled by the choice of voters of a single county.”

Filing applications can be found at sos.texas.gov.

A primary election is an election in which registered voters select a candidate that they believe should be a political party’s candidate for elected office to run in the general election. They are also used to choose convention delegates and party leaders. Primaries are state-level and local-level elections that take place prior to a general election. Texas utilizes an open primary system. Voters do not have to register with a party in advance in order to participate in that party’s primary.

National, state and county offices up for election in 2020 include the offices of U.S. President, currently held by Donald Trump; U.S. Senator, currently held by John Cornyn; all 36 U.S. Representatives, including Rep. Lance Gooden; all 150 Texas State Representatives, including Rep. Travis Clardy; Texas Railroad Commissioner, currently held by Ryan Sitton; Texas Supreme Court Places 1, 7 and 8, currently held by Nathan Hecht, Jeffery Boyd and J. Brett Busby, respectively; Court of Criminal Appeals places 3, 4 and 9, currently held by Bert Richardson, Kevin Yeary and David Newell, respectively; State Board of Education districts 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 14 and 15, held by Georgine Perez, Ken Mercer, Donna Bahorich, Barbara Cargill, Keven Ellis, Tom Maynard, Sue Melton-Malone and Marty Rowley, respectively; Chief Justices of the third, fourth, seventh, eighth, ninth, 12th and 14th Courts of Appeals; Cherokee County Second District Court Judge, currently held by Judge Chris Day; Cherokee County District Attorney, currently held by Elmer Beckworth; Cherokee County Sheriff, currently held by James Campbell; Cherokee County Court at Law Judge, currently held by Judge Janice Stone; Cherokee County Attorney, currently held by Dana Young; Tax Assessor Collector, currently held by Linda Little; Precinct 1 and 3 Cherokee County Commissioners, currently held by Kelly Traylor and Patrick Reagan, respectively; and all four Cherokee County Constables, Pct. 1 Lynn Kelley, Pct. 2 Jack White, Pct. 3 Eddie Lee and Pct. 4 Jamie Beene.

Last day to register to vote in the upcoming primaries is Monday, Feb. 3. Early voting will be held Tuesday, Feb. 18-Friday, Feb. 28. Tuesday, March 3 will be the primaries’ general election day.

The Texas Election Code designates the Secretary of State as the chief election officer of the State of Texas.