Troup hosts Glen Evans Classic

by Michelle Dillon Staff Writer

The Glen Evans Classic, hosted by Troup High School Friday-Saturday, Dec. 27-28, was an event for both men and women’s basketball teams.

Five teams participated in the men’s bracket including Frankston, Mt. Enterprise, New Summerfield, Overton and the host team.

The Troup Tigers held a 2-0 record following the first day of tournament play, easily defeating both the Mt. Enterprise Wildcats, 57-26, and the Overton Mustangs, 61-27.

In the game against Mt. Enterprise, Quincy Kincade was high scorer dropping in 18 points. Weslee Ross followed with 13 points.

Kris Johnson sank nine and Grayson Driggs, eight. Desmon Deason added five points and Kendrick Frazier, four.

Against Overton, Johnson and Driggs tied for most points at 14 each. Frazier dropped in 11 points, Deason added nine and Kincade dropped in seven. Ross, Jordan Elliott and Matthew Castillo each added two points.

The New Summerfield Hornets also seized a 2-0 record on the first day. They beat both the Frankston Indians, 36-20, and the Mt. Enterprise Wildcats, 55-38.

Against Frankston, lead scorer for the Hornets was Collin Wilkerson with 19 points followed by Bryant Leon with 11. Julio Parra sank four points and Alfredo Juarez added two.

In the game against the Wildcats, Wilkerson had 18 points and was again the high scorer. Leon dropped in 15 points and Elvis Mendoza sank nine. Carson Burns added seven points and Parra, six.

The Tigers and Hornets faced off Saturday morning with the championship riding on the outcome. The game resulted in a 2-1 record for Troup, while New Summerfield remained undefeated, beating the Tigers 41-36.

High scorer for the Hornets was Wilkerson with 20 points followed by Mendoza with nine. Leon added four points while Jose Nunez dropped in three. Parra and Burns each added two points.

The Tigers’ high scorer was Kincade with 12 points, all three-point shots. Driggs sank eight points, Frazier dropped in seven while Johnson added six points and Ross, three.

New Summerfield played Overton later in the day, gaining a 61-27 victory over the Mustangs and ending the tournament with a perfect 4-0 record.

The Tigers played Frankston in the final game, resulting in a 48-40 Troup win and a 3-1 tournament record for the Tigers.

New Summerfield walked away with first place. Host team Troup ended in second, while Frankston left with third place.

Players named All-Tournament were Bryant Leon of New Summerfield, Weslee Ross and Quincy Kincade of Troup, as well as Brink Bizzell and Dylan Willis of Frankston. New Summerfield Hornet Collin Wilkerson was designated Most Valuable Player.

In the girls’ bracket, four teams competed including Mabank, Mt. Enterprise, Slocum and the host team, Troup.

The Troup Lady Tigers ended the first day of the tournament with a 1-1 record after beginning the day defeating Mt. Enterprise 45-20.

Ty Moon was high scorer with 21 points, including three successful three-point shots. Kori Minnix sank nine points and Maddie Griffin dropped in seven. Marissa Gilliam put up four points while Ajaya Hampton and Jalyce Dennis each added two.

The Lady Tigers lost their second game of the day, 52-56, in a hard-fought battle with Slocum.

The Lady Tigers held a two-point lead at the end of the first quarter and again at halftime.

They widened the gap to six points, leading Slocum 43-37 by the end of the third. In the fourth period, the teams often exchanged the lead until the final moments of the game when Slocum was able to overtake Troup for the 56-52 win.

Minnix was lead scorer with 26 points, followed by Moon with 17. Gilliam added six while Griffin sank a three-point shot.

Troup faced Mabank on day two of the tournament, losing 44-51, resulting in a third place finish.

The Lady Tigers held a single-point lead at the end of the first quarter, 16-15, but were down by four points at the half, 22-26. Mabank outpaced Troup in the third period 15-5 for a 41-27 lead. While the Lady Tigers outscored their opponent 17-10 in the final frame, it wasn’t enough to complete the comeback.

Minnix was high scorer with 14 points followed by Jessie Minnix with 12 and Moon with 11. Gilliam put in three points while Hampton and Dennis each added two.

Slocum finished first in the tournament with Mabank taking second and Troup ending in third.

Players named All-Tournament were Jaylyn Fletcher of Slocum, Kori Minnix and Ty Moon of Troup, and Kelly Carter and Bo-Bo Martin of Mabank. The Most Valuable Player award went to Gina Lively of Slocum.