JISD teachers of the year named

by Josie Fox

It was a night of acknowledgements and recognition at the Jacksonville ISD board meeting on Monday as the teacher of the year and the employee of the year were named.

Elementary teacher of the year was awarded to Victoria Gray who has taught within the Jacksonville school system for the last seven years. Ms. Gray was also selected as teacher of the year for the West Side campus.
Secondary teacher of the year was awarded to Jennifer Swedoski. Ms. Swedoski has 13 years teaching experience with Jacksonville ISD and was also selected as the teacher of the year for the high school campus. Both Ms. Gray and Ms. Swedoski will advance to the Region 7 competition and possibly on to the state competition.

Teachers of the year were also recognized from each campus. Those winners were Keith Partin, Jacksonville Middle School; Heather Avera, Compass Center; Shelly Wodarski, East Side; Corlene Battle, Joe Wright; Erica Graeter, Fred Douglass; Roel Ramirez, Nicholas Intermediate. Each of the teachers was surprised on Friday, April 13 when administrative officials, board members and the visual arts class visited each classroom to present them with an award.

Awards were also presented to those individuals who are in a non-teaching profession, but make a big impact each day. The paraprofessional of the year award was presented to William Aldridge; auxiliary employee of the year was presented to Larry Reed and professional employee of the year went to Sara Gill.

Recognition was also given to several outstanding student organizations and teams for the accolades they have received this year. Recognized were Career and Technical Education winners, academic UIL team, JMS Sweepstakes choir, JHS Archery team, JHS Maiden Soccer team, and the state finalists in powerlifting.

Following the awards ceremony, the board moved into the regular meeting session to discuss the items on this month’s agenda. The teacher contracts for the 2018-2019 school year were approved as presented to the board, passing unanimously.

Dr. Chad Kelly sought authorization for the superintendent to make a complaint to SBEC on abandonment of contract by Eric Luptak.

“Mr. Luptak was under contract with the school district, but walked out on that position approximately three to four weeks ago.” said Dr. Kelly The motion was made, seconded and passed to allow for the complaint process to begin.

Additional items discussed and passed were the approval of Alison Jones to be designated as investment officer and that both Ms. Jones and Lindy Finley attend investment officer training through Region 7 Service Center. Also passing was the approval to use of the 2018-2019 Instructional Allotment to satisfy 100% of TEKS.

Approval was given to accept the minutes from the March 26 regular board meeting, March 29 special board meeting and April 11 special board meeting. Investment, finance, ADA Summary and amended budget reports were all accepted and approved.